30 Days of Gaming – Day 13: A game you’ve played more than five times

So, a game I’ve played more than five times. I’m assuming this means completed more than five times. It seems even my favorite games I don’t make it past 3 or 4 times.

Xenogears

Xenogears

I know I’ve played Xenogears several times, but only beat it once. Then again, it’s ridiculously long and I’m not sure it’s really all that good. While the story is pretty grandiose, the writers were basically playing mad libs with the Bible, probably just to offend Christians or something. I just thought it was cool. I’m actually playing it right now on my PSP.

I don’t know how many times I’ve started it, though I think I’ve only made it to the second disc twice, which is no easy feat.

Chrono Trigger

Chrono Trigger

The real answer is probably Chrono Trigger. I heard about the game from some of my friends in 1998 when I was in fifth grade. Blockbuster had long since abandoned their supply of SNES games, but the local Hollywood Video had a pretty good selection, including Chrono Trigger.

I watched my friends play it and was intrigued by the whole time traveling concept, something any kid who grew up watching Back to the Future would find appealing.

So, one Friday afternoon after school, my mom took me to Hollywood video and I rented the game.

I’ll have to admit that I kind of cheated since the New Game + feature was already unlocked, which lets you transfer your characters and inventory from another save into a new game. There was a save on the cartridge that was about 2/3 through that I based my game off of.

Anyway, I had seen most of the beginning of the game when one of my friends played it, so there weren’t a whole lot of surprises until I got further on. I was still very impressed with the game as a whole, and ended up playing it most of the weekend nonstop. I eventually beat it, and I’m pretty sure I rented it a few more times for good measure.

I’ve gotta make a note about the music composed by Yasunori Mitsuda: It’s absolutely amazing. I’m honestly kind of regretting not picking it for my “best soundtrack” post, but it’s a bit late now.

Fun fact, Yasunori Mitsuda also composed the music for Xenogears, so that might be another reason I played that one so much.

The multiple play-throughs of Chrono Trigger came a few years later, after my family finally got a modern computer and an internet connection and we were introduced to the glorious world of ebay. I convinced my mom to bid on a cartridge for me that ended up costing around $60. It didn’t come with a box, but the manual and posters were included with it.

The New Game + feature was already unlocked on the cartridge, but the only saves were very early on. I did base my game off of one of these, but it didn’t make much difference. I played through once or twice and then set out to get all of the endings available and record them on a VHS tape.

I never got all of them, maybe about half, but I did get some of the more challenging ones, such as beating Lavos using only Crono and Marle at the very beginning of the game.

Chrono Trigger

The journey begins

The bad news is I somehow lost my cartridge. My sister worked at a dry-cleaners and had a lot of downtime, so she wanted to take our SNES with her to keep her entertained. The SNES was in my room at the time, and I remember specifically setting my Chrono Trigger cartridge aside so she wouldn’t take it with her. She didn’t have any interest in playing it and I wanted to make sure it didn’t get lost.

Unfortunately, it was lost, and to this day I have no idea how it happened. Even after emptying out my entire room when I moved out it was nowhere to be found.

I did get the Playstation version to cope with the loss, but that one is best avoided at all costs. Seriously, don’t play it. You’ll be waiting on the damn game to load every time you do anything, something that was nonexistent in the original.

The DS version, however, is very good and much cheaper than a SNES cartridge. I got it for Christmas right after having jaw surgery, which made my recovery all the more enjoyable.

Hell, it’s $16.99 on Amazon right now. If you have a DS, it’s a must buy.

This entry was posted in Video games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

